Coach Samson Dubina US National Team Coach 4x USATT Coach of the Year

To see this website as it was intended, please update to a modern browser!


Unknown Table Tennis Rule

Discover an unusual rule in table tennis

Character must come as the highest priority in table tennis, before winning. Table tennis players must give their best at all times, yet still remain honest and have excellent sportsmanship throughout the table tennis match.
In the past, table tennis has had one major controversial issue – double hit. Because it was very difficult for umpires to be 100% sure, the decision was often left to the honesty of the players. The honest players were calling it on themselves. The dishonest ones were cheating. To correct this, ITTF (International Table Tennis Federation) has changed the rule as of September 1, 2010.
Previously, the rule stated that a point is won: if an opponent strikes the ball twice successively
Now, the rule states that a point is won:
if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball twice in succession;

Note that the hand that is holding the racket counts as part of the racket and that making a good return off one’s hand or fingers is allowed. As of September 1, 2010, it is not a fault if the ball accidentally hits one’s hand or fingers and then subsequently hits the racket.